Pausing Needs Right Balance for Learners

Pausing Needs Right Balance for Learners

https://unsplash.com/photos/JWiMShWiF14

A pause could increase productivity. When a writer attacks by a writer’s block, pausing is the best choice. When a sales personnel wanted to comfort the complainer, pausing is a first step. And when a speaker forgets his line, pausing is his way to absorb the message he likes to share.

“The fastest and easiest way to accomplish any task is to do it with minimum breaks and pauses.”
Amit Kalantri

There was a time that I had a paused for myself. I tired of reading, writing and responding in social media. I used to say, “I need a pause”.

It widened my time of taking care of other stuff. It made my body and cerebral muscles refreshed. And it gave me a chance of socializing around.

Until the time comes that I enjoyed this “pause”, I used to write daily poetry on my blog, but when I decided to give a pause for myself, I only wrote one poem in a week. That was hard for me and I felt guilty because I just realized that the pause I used to practice makes my learning process sluggish.

Those words which would flow voluntarily every time I write a poem become so rigid. Those ideas which were stock at the unconscious part of my brain came out doubtfully. And a confidence that I restored became weak.

I admit, I was out of balance.

There’s nothing wrong about pausing. In fact, it can support productivity. It gives us space or an escape when we feel overwhelmed. Only , if mishandled it may lead us into tardiness.

On my learning journey, having pause is more sensitive because nobody monitors my work. There is no one pushing me to study or to finish this or that. Nobody gives me deadlines. Everything I must do by myself. Because of this, I could easily adrift from my goal (to become a successful writer) if I mishandled “pausing”.

One of the best ingredients in a self-studying process is a “Balance”.

Yes, you may have self-discipline but too much of this may lead you into boredom. You may have determination but too much for this may lead you to feel overwhelmed. On the other hand, if you give yourself too much space from what you’re working on, you may walk away from your goal.

“There is nothing wrong with loving your work and wanting to apply yourself to it. But there is so much more to life. Balance is what is important, maintaining balance.”
― Bronnie Ware, The Top Five Regrets of the Dying: A Life Transformed by the Dearly Departing

Leave a comment